I’m not overdramatic

Ok well maybe I am, just sometimes.

A lot of the time when I tell my friends or family or boyfriend about my anxiety or my stress I hear “You’re being a drama queen” or  “Stop being so overdramatic”.

These words make me want to punch you. They make me wanna grab you and shake you to knock some sense into you. How dare you downplay my anxiety like that? My real fear?

Ask any college kid you know how the end of the semester makes them feel. I have 5 papers due this week, three tests, and multiple projects. I also work 25-30 hours a week. That’s enough to stress anybody out, let alone someone who suffers from severe anxiety disorder. I stay up all hours of the night to write a paper and turn it in only to stay up for three more hours worrying about how tired I’m going to be the next day. Sometimes I just lay in bed and cry because I don’t even know where to start for my multiple projects, and sometimes I just eat all day because I’m so stressed.

Next time someone tells you how stressed and anxious they are, don’t call them overdramatic.

Xoxo,

Liz

Leave a comment